Tip of the Day!

Being a student is great.. until you have to do work. For me it is in the form of 3 philosophy essays this week – yum.

So in my despair I asked my daddy to text me an essay writing tip of the day hehe.. and I thought today’s tip was quite applicable to life in general!…

‘Imagine you are in a helicopter. Fly above the subject matter. Look down upon it. Say what you see.’

Once I had tackled my essay with this method, I started to think about it in terms of my own life. If we step away from our own bad moods, emotions, worries, menial tasks; how do we see our life? Is it good, bad, ugly?

I find that people like to confide in me about their troubles and to ask what they should do, and it comes naturally to me to be able to suggest solutions. But when it comes to my very own troubles, I keep them hidden in my shell. I find them so hard to solve because they are tied up with all of my tangled emotions. (In Philosophy of Mind we call this subjective analysis ;) I’m such a geeek)

But what if we learned to step back out of our own minds and look at the problems as if they were a stranger’s? Surely we would know what to do? This reminds me of the lyrics to ‘Going for the Gold’ by Bright Eyes:

‘And if I could talk to myself like I was someone else
Then maybe I could take your advice
And I wouldn’t act like such an asshole all the time’


So today, try looking at your own life from a helicopter, say what you see, work out what you should change, and tell me what you think!!

Lovess

xxx

4 responses to “Tip of the Day!

  1. I think your dad is a genius

  2. Waw your dad is really smart!

  3. I like this strategy, it sounds really useful. I need to play helicopter more! Awesome post.

Leave a Reply

